Ayurveda, the ancient Indian medicinal system is the result of thousands of years of research by the Indian Ayurishis and Philosophers. The conclusion of these longtime studies is that every person is unique in their respective ability to handle a disease. While the Ayurveda advocates prevention and healthy lifestyle as the most important tools in keeping the body in good health, it states that there are three doshas (energies) in everybody which are also the main constituents of a human form. These doshas are named as Vata, Pitta, and Kapha. According to the Ayurveda school, each of the doshas performs different functions and is responsible for distinct actions in the body. To understand each ayurvedic doshas, let’s talk about these individually.

Vata Dosha: the energy of motion

Vata Dosha is related to the movement energy that is responsible for controlling the functions of the respiratory system, circulatory system, and cardiac cycle, including other functions such as the movement of food in the body and movement of thoughts from one way to the other. The Vata dosha is composed of Ether and Air. A person with Vata dosha in abundance is supposed to be of dynamic and all-around personality, having an inventive thinking and energetic characteristics. In case of an imbalance in the Vata dosha, one can be highly ambiguous, stressful, and anxiety-ridden. It is further divided into five types- Prana, Udana, Samana, Apana, and Vyana.

Pitta Dosha: the energy of transformation

Pitta Dosha is an extremely important bodily energy related to some of the most significant metabolic functions in the body like ingestion, assimilation of food, nutrition, absorption, and heat regulation. As Pitta Dosha governs the digestive system, it certainly helps a person be in good health. This dosha is composed of fire and some water, meaning a person with balanced Pitta shall be highly composed and is a good decision-maker. For being a leader of charismatic and ardent nature, Pitta plays a sublime role. The opposite happens when there is a disparity in Pitta. It leads a person to get angered easily even under basic conditions. While a substantial amount of Pitta encourages to be a good listener, intelligent, entrepreneurial, and a creative player while its dearth can make a person short-tempered and dictatorial. The five types of Pitta Dosha are- Pachaka, Ranjaka, Alochaka, Sadhaka, and Barajaka.

Kapha Dosha: the binding force

An amalgamation of the earth and water elements, Kapha Dosha is associated with the proper development of the body. Like Photosynthesis is responsible for the growth of the plants, Kapha is accountable for the growth of the human body. It provides all the important ingredients needed for the body to flourish smoothly like water, calmness, lubrication in the joints, etc. In addition to maintaining the immune system, Kapha moisturizes the skin by providing enough water to every part of the body. A fair amount of Kapha makes an individual peaceful, kind, and affectionate. It nurtures the cells of the body and keeps them bound to maintain the strength of the body. On the negative side, a person is likely to be lazy and heavy.

It is very easy to understand that each human being owns all three doshas. The difference in the personality is determined by the dominance of one or two doshas over the other. A number of people with a zeal to understand the bodily functions and health-related actions, learn Ayurveda and get a formal training in the study of doshas. If you wish to understand how the doshas work scientifically and go deep into the knowledge of Ayurveda, then opt for an Ayurveda training institute in Kerala, India

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

close slider